Storm-struck Counties Get One More Week To File Minnesota Taxes

Storm-struck Counties Get One More Week To File Minnesota Taxes

Minnesota authorities have extended the April 15 tax deadline by one week for taxpayers in 64 counties hit hard by last week’s winter storm.

The Minnesota Department of Revenue said individual taxpayers and businesses now have until April 22 to file their state income tax returns. They will not face late penalties or interest for submitting returns during that extra week.

The extension affects only Minnesota tax returns.  Federal returns still are due on April 15.

The new deadline follows Gov. Tim Walz’s declaration of an emergency because of Winter Storm Wesley and flooding from rapid snowmelts.

The order covers much of the southern part of the state, including the Rochester and Twin Cities metropolitan areas. Minnesota Revenue said the new deadline extends to taxpayers in these counties:

Anoka, Beltrami, Becker, Benton, Big Stone, Blue Earth, Brown, Carver, Cass, Chippewa, Chisago, Clay, Cottonwood, Dakota, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Grant, Hennepin, Houston, Isanti, Jackson, Kittson, Lac Qui Parle, Le Sueur, Lyon, Marshall, Martin, McLeod, Mille Lacs, Mower, Morrison, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Norman, Olmsted, Pennington, Pipestone, Polk, Ramsey, Red Lake, Redwood, Renville, Rock, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Steele, Stevens, Swift, Todd, Traverse, Wabasha, Wadena, Waseca, Washington, Watonwan, Wilkin, Winona, Wright, Yellow Medicine.

Three tribal nations — the Prairie Island Community, Red Lake Band of Chippewa, and Upper Sioux Community — also are listed.

Individual taxpayers can phone Minnesota Revenue at 651-296-3781 or 1-800-652-9094 for more information.

This entry was posted in EricJohn Ltd and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.